Red Deer County Council

Red Deer County Council is comprised of a Mayor and six Councillors with one Councillor elected from each ward / division. Each Council member serves a four-year term (terms increased from three years after the 2013 election).

The Red Deer County Council Divisional map can be viewed online.

Please see our Public Hearings page for updates on upcoming important Council items.

Duties & Function

Governed by the Municipal Government Act, the Council passes bylaws that provide for, develop and maintain safe and viable communities. These bylaws include matters such as the safety, health and welfare of the people and property; business activity, recreation, public utilities; nuisances; transportation and wild and domestic animals.

The primary function of the County Manager is to act as the principal liaison between Council and Administration and to oversee the Directorship.

See our video page for a brief video on the role of the County Manager (CAO) and Mayor at Red Deer County.

Each Director oversees daily operations of his or her department utilizing support and advice of specialized managers to ensure the smooth operation and integration of several County departments for optimal effectiveness.