News Flash

Red Deer County News

Posted on: May 12, 2020

Red Deer County approves tax rate and deferral program

On May 12, Red Deer County Council approved the 2020 Tax Rate Bylaw, as well as a program that both defers and reduces 2020 tax penalties. 

Due to the ongoing impact of the Covid19 pandemic, Council has decided on a two percent overall decrease on taxation from 2019. This decision comes despite collecting approximately $100M less in overall assessment. 

Mayor Jim Wood commented, “This is a very stressful time for a large number of Albertans. We are doing our best to ensure that municipal taxes will not create a burden on our residents and business owners.” 

At the same meeting, Council approved a program that will defer penalty charges until October 1 instead of the usual July 1. The Bylaw also reduces the penalty rate from 6% to 4% for the 2020 taxation year only.  

Rates are as follows: 

Farmland: 7.9460    
Residential: 2.6816    
Non-residential: 10.9465    
Protective Services: 0.6500        
Community Services: 0.6000          

Special levies & requisitions are as follows:   

Seniors Housing Levy: 0.0196  
Prov. Education Requisition (Non-residential): 3.9305
Prov. Education Requisition (Residential & Farm): 2.6266                        
Designated Industrial Property Requisition: 0.0760  
Policing Levy: 0.0915  

An Environmental Levy was proposed for 2020, but has been withdrawn to create almost one million dollars in further tax savings. 

Council is once again implementing a minimum tax levy of $25.00. Also, as per Provincial order, the assessment complaint filing deadline has been extended to July 1 from April 20. 

The County is strongly encouraging those who are able to continue paying their taxes in full or in smaller partial payments. No penalties will be assessed until Oct. 1. For more information, contact Red Deer County Centre at 403.350.2150 or visit

Facebook Twitter Email